Illustrator: Tutorials and Choices for Graphics

1 - Pick Dish .jpg

All of the images in the interactive cooking book were designed and created by myself as I’ve learnt a very good skill that is using adobe illustrator. There are many tutorials on the internet that taught me how to duplicate my mind onto illustrator. YouTube was my main source of finding tutorials to get started as I had no idea as to how illustrator worked so during the first weeks of being assigned the project, I researched and learnt a new skill to add to my skill-set, a skill that I didn’t know I had until watching these tutorials. The first tutorial was all about shading and colouring in as I had no clue to how this was done only because it was as easy like Photoshop with the fill bucket option. The “Ultimate Inking and Coloring Tutorial for Adobe Illustrator Screen Shot 2017-04-23 at 02.19.31.pngCS5″ tutorial really brought my designs to life as I was able to learn many new features on how to shade and fill in blank spaces on my designs. New tools allowed me to successful create a coloured design with shadows. It did take a lot of practice from that stage to get to where I am now  because the shading did confuse me at first. To demonstrate how far I have come, the left picture was done when I first started designing and drawing on illustrator and the right picture is what I recently created. Both of the pictures being of the same person.

TrapunzelKajalXO

The improvement is very visible through the colours, shadows and overall drawing skill. When it came to my choice of graphics for the project it made me think because I wanted to include a lot of detail in each page however I was scared It would take up too much time so I simplified the amount of detail to make it easier for me to complete but still look professional. I went with a cartoon type feel and god rid of the outline on all of the designs and this gave it the finishing touch. I decided to design the whole of my project the same way. The colours I used are all flushed and faded colours to make the interactive cooking book stand out more and the vision in which I had in my head was perfectly put onto Muse where I attached everything together to create one interactive cooking book.

5 - finito

Sources:

YouTube. 2017. Ultimate Inking and Coloring Tutorial for Adobe Illustrator CS5 (short version) – YouTube. [ONLINE] Available at: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R5wW_65iAiU. [Accessed 23 April 2017].

Leave a Reply

